4.6 C
New York
Friday, December 1, 2023

Burna Boy, Tems, Ayra Starr & Black Sherif Nominated For 2022 MTV EMAs


Share post:

MTV has announced the list of nominees for the 2022 MTV European Music Awards, which will be held on November 13, 2022 in Dusseldorf, Germany.

Burna Boy, Tems and Ayra Starr from Nigeria compete for Best African Artist. Ghanaian hip-hop star Black Sherif, South African artist Musa Keys and Tanzanian singer Zuchu are also in the running.

Nigerian international singer Tems was also nominated for the Best New Artist award alongside Baby Keem, Dove Cameron, GAYLE, SEVENTEEN and Stephen Sanchez.


The Nigerian trio of Burna Boy, Tems and Ayra Starr are nominated for the Best African Act Award. They will face off against Tanzanian singer Zuchu, South African musician Musa Keys and rising hip-hop talent Black Sherif from Ghana.

Also, read; Ukraine Calls On African Nations to Stop Neutrality In Its War With Russia

Harry Styles received the most mentions among artists in the 2022 MTV EMAs nominations and received seven awards, including Best Artist, Best Song and Best Video.

Taylor Swift received seven nominations, including Best Pop Artist, Best Artist and Best Longform Video. With five nominations each, Nicki Minaj and Rosala are tied on points.

Other first-time nominees include some of the most exciting artists in the industry right now, including Chencho Corleone, GAYLE, Stephen Sanchez, Dove Cameron, Doechii, Baby Keem, Kim Petras, Mae Muller, Saucy Santana, Shenseea, Summer Walker, Wet Bein and a lot more.

The MTV EMA 2022 will take place in Dusseldorf, Germany at the PSD Bank Dome indoor multi-purpose arena. The ceremony will be broadcast live on MTV in over 170 countries on November 13 and will be available worldwide on November 14 on Paramount+ and Pluto TV. This year, Germany hosts the event for the sixth time.

Burna Boy, Tems, Ayra Starr & Black Sherif Nominated For 2022 MTV EMAs

Starting now, fans can visit www.mtvema.com to vote for their favorite artists in 19 genre-neutral categories, including Best Song, Best Artist, Best Collaboration, Best Longform Video and Best Metaverse Performance. Voting will remain open until November 9 at 23:59 CET.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Related articles

First Black Action Film Hero Richard Roundtree Dies at Age 81

Richard Roundtree, celebrated for his pioneering contributions to the representation of black actors, peacefully departed after a brief struggle with pancreatic cancer, surrounded by his family.

Tyler Perry Commits to Constructing a New House for 93-Year-Old Woman Josephine Wright Evicted by Developers

The renowned actor has committed to constructing a new five-bedroom home for Josephine Wright to replace her current residence.

Ghanaian artist El Anatsui showcases his artwork at London’s Tate Modern

Tate Modern Features Ghanaian Artist El Anatsui's Monumental Bottle Top Sculptures

Davido, J Hus, and Black Sherif to Take Center Stage at Ghana’s AfroFuture Festival

Nigerian-American Afrobeats sensation Davido, British-Gambian rapper J Hus, and Ghanaian rapper Black Sherif have been announced as the...