4.6 C
New York
Saturday, May 18, 2024

Full List Of CAF Award Winners as Asisat Oshoala Wins Title For The Fifth Time


Share post:

Super Falcon forward Asisat Oshoala was named the 2022 CAF Player of the Year.

The 27-year-old was announced as the award winner at the gala in Rabat, Morocco on Thursday.

With this victory, Oshoala became the first player in history to win the African Player of the Year title five times.

Oshoala was named the best African player in 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2019.

The win is her fifth award, beating former Falcons forward Perpetua Nkwocha.

The 2021/22 season can be described as Oshoala’s best, as she played a crucial role in the Spanish team’s exciting victory – the Women’s Supercopa de España, the Copa de la Reina and the First Division.

In the men’s category, however, Sadio Mane won the CAF 2022 Player of the Year award.

Full List of Nominees and Winners;


Player of the Year (Women)
Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Internazionale Milano)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona) — WINNER
Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt)

Player of the Year (Men)
Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich) — WINNER

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)
Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Bambanani Mbanie (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes) — WINNER

Also, read; Sadio Mané Gets Named CAF’s African Player of The Year

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)
Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)
Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly) — WINNER

Young Player of the Year (Women)
Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies)
Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes) — WINNER
Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne)

Full List Of CAF Award Winners as Asisat Oshoala Wins Title For The Fifth Time

Young Player of the Year (Men)
Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)
Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)
Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur) — WINNER
Coach of the Year (Women)
Bruce Mwape (Zambia)
Desiree Ellis (South Africa) — WINNER
Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Men)
Aliou Cisse (Senegal) — WINNER
Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)
Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year (Women)
AS FAR (Morocco)
Hasaacas Ladies (Ghana)
Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) — WINNER

Club of the Year (Men)
Al Ahly (Egypt)
RS Berkane (Morocco)
Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco) — WINNER

National Team of the Year (Men)
Senegal — WINNER

Goal of the Year
Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal/ Simba FC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Related articles

Chad Confirms Mahamat Idriss Déby as President with 61% of Vote

The Constitutional Council of Chad confirmed Mahamat Idriss Déby as the nation's president on Thursday, May 16, after...

UK Denies 74-Year-Old Ghanaian Permanent Residency After 42 Years of Residency

A 74-year-old Ghanaian man, Nelson Shardey, has launched a legal battle against the United Kingdom's Home Office after...

1-Year-Old Ghanaian, Ace Liam Becomes Guinness World Records’ Youngest Male Artist

Ace Liam, a one-year-old Ghanaian prodigy, has officially become the Guinness World Record holder for the Youngest Male...

Ousted Gabon President Ali Bongo Begins Hunger Strike

Gabon's deposed President Ali Bongo and his two sons have initiated a hunger strike, alleging they are being...